Community

In July 2020, Shubhangi and Suhani envisioned a space to write academic articles together. The challenges associated with academic writing are familiar to anyone within the field. However, the development of the skills requires much more than a reading a PDF on how to do academic writing. With this in the minds, the community had its beginnings. We are now a community of undergraduate and postgraduate students of Political Science who work together to develop research skills, write academic articles, and learn the art of critiquing based on the monthly system of feedbacks.  

Shubhangi Jain, Co-creator, TIC – With the classrooms shifting online, a lot of us were facing the obstacle of keeping ourselves connected. And Academic Discussions and Writing had taken a backseat. Having felt this ourselves, Suhani and I started the community with a group of four people. Over the weeks, equally enthusiastic students across the country and universitites joined us in our journey. This community brought together the scattered experiences of all of us with a passion to write. As difficult it is to approach academic writing, it is even more difficult to keep ourselves motivated to do so. However, having a peer group or as we say a ‘circle of trust’ to bank upon, keeps us going. Since then, the spirit of the positive environment and respect for each other’s work has become a defining feature of the group.  I am truly grateful to all the members of the group who keep us motivated to learn and explore different writing styles making the rigourous process of academic writing refreshing. The past year at TIC has been filled with meeting students, scholars and teachers across universities encouraging us in the right direction.

Shruti Shila Saikia, Content Head – TIC has become an intrinsic part of my monthly schedule for the past one year. I have learnt a lot in the process of submitting articles for the monthly cycles to receiving and giving feedback. I have learned and unlearned a lot from the community. This community has helped me to develop my Inquisitiveness for academic writing.

Pallav Shrivastava – When I joined TIC in July 2020, I wanted to have discipline and regularity in my writing, to write theoretical and technical articles to improve my analytical skills. I really achieved those things here. The working environment is very cordial and respectful in which you don’t feel shy to experiment. I really can see a lot of improvements in my articles and the way I approach research.

Asra Siddiqui – The Inquisitive Circle is one of the encouraging platforms for promising researchers/writers. Being associated with TIC for a year now, it has provided a great platform and support for all my academic writings/opinions which I can proudly display to interested readers. It has been a healthy learning environment promising growth by promoting constructive interaction amongst peers.

Raunaq Sharma – The Inquisitive Circle has been a great learning experience for me. I joined the community last year without any prior experience in academic writing and over a year, I’ve managed to improve my writing skills and pen down multiple articles. TIC keeps its members active through regular writing and feedback cycles along with informative webinars and training sessions.

Farha Mirza – Over this 1 year TIC has been a great teacher in guiding me to write academic articles. The constant discussions over our topics and the acknowledgment by other authors makes TIC a very special place. The Feedback cycle acts as a check and balance for all the articles which helps TIC to grow together.

Resham Raj – TIC is helping me improve my academic writing skills. From academic write-ups, monthly feedback, recommended ” Read and Watch lists ” the group has helped me feel the socio-academic circles of educational institutions and continues to motivate me to write and learn even during tough online times !

Satyaki Barua – Joining TIC has really been quite an experience for me. The way they interact, engage and push us to pursue the academic fervour is remarkable. Even though it’s just been a month since my joining, I have to say, I have learned a lot and am expecting more.

Leave a comment